Verifying Paypal in the PH

In my search for a part-time online job, I discovered that it is impossible to get paid if I do not have a Paypal account. Upon singing up for a Paypal account, I also discovered that I need a credit/debit card to verify the damn thing. According to Paypal:

Confirming your credit/debit card is a PayPal security check which lets us know your card is in your possession. We call this our Verification process.

All PayPal accounts are initially ‘unverified’ and have withdrawal limits until you confirm your financial details with us.

Important: You can still use your PayPal account until you reach the withdrawal limits.

I do not own a credit card and I do not intend to get one. The thing’s too much of a temptation to have. I’ll be buried in debt even more. And so begins my search for a debit card to verify my Paypal account.

The first thing I tried is my Metrobank Prepaid Card. It doesn’t work.

It says here that you can use RCBC‘s MyWallet card to verify Paypal. P110 is the fee for the card, I need one (1) valid I.D and an initial deposit of P50 which Paypal would use and return after verification. What confuses me is when i called a local branch of RCBC I was told that you can’t use it for Paypal.  (edit:) I asked RCBC through email and they confirmed that MyWallet may be used for Paypal. The reply email is as follows:

Yes, you may use your Mywallet account for your Paypal transactions.  Please make sure that before you link your card with Paypal, your balance should not be lower than atleast P200.00. Paypal will charge a total of P145.00 upon successful linking.  P45.00 ( or the peso equivalent of $1 at the time of linking),  will be the Paypal charge and the P100.00 will go to your Paypal balance.

I called Bank of the Philippine Islands to inquire if they had any card that I can use. Woman asks me if I was using it to buy or sell things online and I told her I was going to use it to receive payment for freelance work. She ignores me and says that if I wanted to shop using paypal I should get a credit card. She then tells me to wait so she could ask someone else. While I waited I can hear her talking with someone about lunch. I hung up.

I then called Union Bank. The woman immediately tells me that their EON Card can be used for Paypal. I only need to go to the bank and bring two (2) valid I.D’s, proof of billing, P350 for the annual fee, and since I’m using it for Paypal, I also need to bring an extra P200 to deposit which shall be used by Paypal and returned after verification. After an internet search I found that I could also go to their website and fill up the application there so my card would be ready when I get to the bank, or at least I hope so.

So, I have filled up my application for an EON Card. I figured the huge cost would be worth it if I don’t have to worry about the card not being rejected.

I read somewhere, I can’t find the site anymore, that Security Bank‘s Cash Card can be used for Paypal verification too but I’m not sure.

I was able to go to a branch of Banco de Oro after work to ask. Here is my conversation with the woman at the new accounts desk:

Me: Hi, meron ba kayong debit card na pwedeng ipang-verify sa Paypal. (Do you have a debit card that I can use to verify Paypal)

New Accounts Person: Pang verify sa Paypal? Para saan? (To verify Paypal? For what?)

Me: Para magamit ko yung Paypal ko. (So I could use my Paypal)

NAP: Saan mo nakuha yung Paypal mo? (Where did you get your Paypal?)

Me: Sa internet. Paypal.com. (From the internet. Paypal.com)

NAP: Hindi, saang kompanya mo nakuha yung Paypal account mo? (No, which company did you get your Paypal account from?)

Me: Ha? Hindi naman binibigay ng kompanya ang paypal account, kahit sino pwede kumuha nun. (Huh? Companies don’t issue Paypal Accounts, anyone can get one.)

(She stares at me in confusion and irritation, which made me more irritated)

Me: Sige po, salamat na lang. (Okay, thank you)

Obviously, this is not an in depth research for debit cards which can be used for Paypal verification. I did not inquire with other banks such as Philippine National Bank and China Bank. When I found Union Bank, I stopped searching. I can only treat my visit to the BDO branch as a subconscious wish for masochism.

Leave a comment